Wednesday, September 30, 2009
So he proceeds to inform me that I'm most likely gonna be in the hospital until my daughter is born and it's going to be 2-3 weeks and she will be c-section because I'm toxic and they will most likely have to take her early. So they pump me full of steroids so that it can speed up the growth of my daughters lungs/kidneys, you know, just in case she is born early. Well of course then the steroids raises my blood sugar where I already have issues with gestational diabetes. So now I'm on a diabetic diet.
Now the whole time I'm in the hospital, for breakfast, every morning, all I want is some freakin Cheerio's. You wouldn't think it would be that hard. But I would call in every morning and ask for Cheerio's, and every morning, they would send me Special K. So by Thursday, I've been in the hospital for 6 days, the dietitian comes around and I express my extreme distaste for the fact that all I wanted was freakin Cherrio's and I had yet to get them. So she promises me that she will make sure that I have Cherrio's for Friday morning breakfast.
So Friday rolls around. The 25th. My mama's birthday. The first thing I think of when I wake up is actually that I need to make sure I call her and wish her a happy birthday. Well they get my blood pressure that moring, and it's high. SO they talk about the fact that they need to talk to the doctor and get an ultrasound done and what not because I'm toxic and everything else. SO they give me my breakfast. Guess what I get... CHEERIO'S! I'm so freakin happy because I've finally gotten my Cheerio's! Well I start getting my breakfast ready to eat, pour in the milk, take one spoonful of cereal, put it to my mouth, nurse runs in; "Don't eat! You can't eat! They're probably going to do a C-section later, you can't have any food in your stomach!" Now I'm pissed! I'm pregnant, and I've been fighting for days to get one bowl of the right freaking cereal and I finally get it and I can't have it!? Then realization hits. WHAT!? Did you just say C-section today!? My baby is going to be here...today!? She can't be born today. I'm only 30 weeks! It's too soon! She's too early! This can't be happening!
Truth be told the rest of the day was a complete blur to me. This cereal incident happened at around 9:30 and she was born at 3:47. Happy birthday grandma, ready or not, your granddaughter is here. The spinal for the c-section hurt worse than anything honestly because they had such a small area to work with but I didn't feel much after it was done. They showed me my beautiful baby girl then they whisked her away to the NICU. She is doing remarkably well for being born early. Everyone in the NICU tells me my little girl is very feisty. It makes me smile to know she's a fighter. She's so beautiful.
I'm home now. She's going to be in the hospital for a bit. They are thinking they will have to keep her until around her original due date in the end of November, I'm hoping she'll be home before that. It's up to her and how quickly she gains weight. She's small for a 30 week baby anyway, but she's doing great and gaining a little bit every day. She's in great hands in the best NICU in the state, so I can't ask for more than that. I just hope and pray that she's home soon. I can't wait to bring my little angel home with me. Well anyway, that's what's going on at the moment in my world. I will definitely update as she she gets stronger and gets to come home. Until then...later folkses.
~Me~
Thursday, September 17, 2009
We'll start with the second Article of the constitution - The Executive Branch. The part of this that I'm talking about is Section 1 where it states:
Before he enter on the Execution of his Office, he shall take the following Oath or Affirmation:
"I do solemnly swear (or affirm) that I will faithfully execute the Office of President of the United States, and will to the best of my Ability, preserve, protect and defend the Constitution of the United States"
PROTECT AND DEFEND THE CONSTITUTION OF THE UNITED STATES. We'll just leave that there for now.
This brings me to a couple of amendment points that I would like to discuss and things that I wouldn't mind putting out there. As you go through the Constitution you should be aware of the Amendments and what they stand for. Most of them giving rights to the people. Article 5 of the Constitution speaks directly about Amendments and how they are ratified into the constitution and what not. It states in the Article that no Amendment made prior to 1808 shall in any manner affect the First and the Fourth Clauses in the Ninth Section of the first Article (Section 4 discussing the time and place for election holding and Section 9 discussing taxing on Migration or Importation of goods into the country as well as Titles of Nobility granted by the US.) and that no State, without its Consent; shall be deprived of its equal Suffrage in the Senate.
That being said I would like to look at Amendment 1 of the Constitution. Freedom of Religion, Press and Expression. This Amendment was Ratified Dec 15, 1791. It says Congress shall make NO LAW respecting an establishment of religion, or prohibiting the free exercise thereof; or abridging the freedom of speech or of the press; of the right of the people peaceably to assemble, and to petition the Government for a redress of grievances.Now, what does that mean to me? Put simply...there is NOTHING WRONG with offending anyone! I should not be censored at Christmas time because I'm a Christian and my neighbor is Muslim! WHEN DID AMERICAN CITIZENS BECOME THE MINORITY!!!!!!!!???????? WHY IS IT THAT WE AS AMERICAN CITIZENS LET THE RIGHT WING GOVERNMENT TELL US WHAT WE CAN OR CANNOT SAY!?
Now lets look at Amendment 2 of the Constitution. Our Right to Bear Arms. This Amendment was also Ratified Dec 15, 1791. It says A well regulated Militia, being necessary to the security of a free State, the right of the people to keep and bear Arms, shall not be infringed! SHALL NOT BE INFRINGED!! This one is SO IMPORTANT! Why is it that our government wants to take that right away from us? This was put into place so that the people, American people, could defend themselves against the government! This was originally put into place because when we as America made ourselves a nation away from the old world and the old government, they wanted to make sure that they were not put in a position such as in the old world where the kings and government were the ONLY ONES ALLOWED TO CARRY SWORDS/WEAPONS. This principal basis of this Amendment was to give the people the power! Imagine that! What the constitution was created for! What does this mean to me? It means to me that everyone is entitled to their opinions on the matter but the bottom line is simple, this is our right, and it was put into affect for a reason. Why is the president trying to take this right away from us? Isn't it noted in the Constitution and did I quote that he took an oath before entering into this presidency that he would PROTECT AND DEFEND THE CONSTITUTION! All of it! Not just the parts that he deems fit! ALL OF IT! You CANNOT PROTECT AND DEFEND OUR RIGHTS IF YOU ARE TRYING TO TAKE AWAY THE SECOND AMENDMENT!
Lastly lets talk about Amendment 10 of the Constitution. Powers of the States and the People. This Amendment was too Ratified Dec 15, 1791. It states The powers not delegated to the United States by the Constitution, nor prohibited by it to the States, are reserved to the States respectively or to the people. In layman's terms says that these things not mentioned in the Constitution should be taken care of by the people. Put simply, POWER TO THE PEOPLE! The government was designed to take care of our rights and our freedoms. I know I've touched recently on this National Health Care plan. So why don't we keep going with that one.
Now what's being suggested if you look past the earmarks and the amendments and addendums and look at the bottom line of this health care initiative is to make it more affordable for those who don't have insurance. Okay? Does anyone know what the government run health care basis is in England? The same England that we distanced ourselves from when this constitution came out so that we as America could become and INDEPENDENT country. It states that they will do things cost effectively period. No problem. Except the fact that if it's not cost effective then they won't use it. As in the statement that's been made and believed by people in some governing countries that senior citizens need to simply deal with being senior citizens and are not worth "wasting funds on". Really!? I wonder what the guy will be thinking about when he turns 55 and becomes a senior citizen himself. Heaven forbid he should get sick with anything that he might need treatment for. Will it be okay at that point to shrug him off and tell him its just too bad that he's over 55. It's not cost effective to treat him for what ails him. That's what government health care is all about. And you know, I have to ask the big question...Why in sam HELL is the president putting his two cents into health care? You tell me WHERE in the Constitution it talks about government health care. You won't find it! And do you know why!? BECAUSE PUT SIMPLY, IT BELONGS IN THE HAND OF THE PEOPLE!!!
We need to get back to (And to steal from the presidents own vocabulary that he likes to use a lot) the FUNDAMENTAL BASICS of which this country was founded on! Like "In GOD we trust", that's a good one. What ever happened to that one? Oh, that's right. The Politically Correct crowd said it might offend someone. Oh but wait, isn't it the job of the president to PROTECT AND DEFEND THE CONSTITUTION OF THE UNITED STATES!? To quote my husband here, What ever happened to the government that was By the People and For the People! Not By the Politicians and For the Deep Pockets! We need to remember what makes this country great people! Freedom! I leave you with this in thought. Try not to forget the words in the Gettysburg Address by our great past President, Abraham Lincoln.
FOUR SCORE AND SEVEN YEARS AGO OUR FATHERS BROUGHT FORTH, UPON THIS CONTINENT, A NEW NATION, CONCEIVED IN LIBERTY, AND DEDICATED TO THE PROPOSITION THAT ALL MEN ARE CREATED EQUAL! NOW WE ARE ENGAGED IN A GREAT CIVIL WAR, TESTING WHETHER THAT NATION, OR ANY NATION SO CONCEIVED, AND SO DEDICATED, CAN LONG ENDURE. WE ARE MET HERE ON A GREAT BATTLEFIELD OF THAT WAR. WE HAVE COME TO DEDICATE A PORTION OF IT AS A FINAL RESTING PLACE FOR THOSE WHO HERE GAVE THEIR LIVES THAT THE NATION MIGHT LIVE. IT IS ALTOGETHER FITTING AND PROPER THAT WE SHOULD DO THIS. BUT IN A LARGER SENSE WE CANNOT DEDICATE - WE CAN NOT CONSECRATE - WE CAN NOT HALLOW THIS GROUND. THE BRAVE MEN, LIVING AND DEAD, WHO STRUGGLED, HERE, HAVE CONSECRATED IT FAR ABOVE OUR POOR POWER TO ADD OR DETRACT. THE WORLD WILL LITTLE NOTE, NOR LONG REMEMBER WHAT WE SAY HERE, BUT CAN NEVER FORGET WHAT THEY DID HERE. IT IS FOR US, THE LIVING, RATHER TO BE DEDICATED HERE TO THE UNFINISHED WORK WHICH THEY HAVE, THUS FAR, SO NOBLY CARRIED ON. IT IS RATHER FOR US TO BE HERE DEDICATED TO THE GREAT TASK REMAINING BEFORE US - THAT FROM THESE HONORED DEAD WE TAKE INCREASED DEVOTION TO THAT CAUSE FOR WHICH THEY GAVE THE LAST FULL MEASURE OF DEVOTION, THAT WE HERE HIGHLY RESOLVE THAT THOSE DEAD SHALL NOT HAVE DIED IN VAIN; THAT HIS NATION SHALL HAVE A NEW BIRTH OF FREEDOM; AND THAT THIS GOVERNMENT OF THE PEOPLE, BY THE PEOPLE, FOR THE PEOPLE, SHALL NOT PERISH FROM THE EARTH!
Monday, September 14, 2009
So after leaving the doctors office I was to go home. So I stopped at Publix and got a small booklet to keep my blood pressure Journal and while there I saw a little elephant made by Russ. It's a part of their "Shining Star" collection. I just thought it was totally cute, and since I'm doing my daughters room in elephants I had to have it. So I get it, put it in the cart and tell my husband we need to go ahead and pick it up...not really giving him much choice in the matter. As he is walking around the store I actually go back out to my truck because I'd been on my feet a lot today and I was really tired. So I waited as he shopped. Well we didn't realize when I picked it up how expensive it was. It was just a stuffed elephant. I mean, how expensive could it be right? Well my husband comes out of the store and tells me it was like $13 for this little elephant. Well of course I didn't expect him to actually pick it up knowing it was that expensive, but he did. Well I just got to looking at the tag and it occurs to me just now, why it was so expensive.
Shining Stars is actually a part of the International Star Registry. Apparently when we purchased our little elephant friend for her today, we actually purchased a star for her as well. I get to go online shortly to this website, register and name the elephant and then I get to name a star for my daughter. How cool is that!? I'm so excited! Anyway, I just had to put a note on here about that.
Lastly I have to put a quick shout out to you Swayze fans. We lost a great man today. But I have to say, anyone battling Pancreatic Cancer as long as he did, he is definitely in a better place now. God called for one of his dancing angels today and he definitely got a good one with Patrick. You'll be missed.
Later all!!!! ~ME~
Friday, September 11, 2009
My husband and I weren't married yet. We lived in Nashville Tn at the time and I worked for a home health agency. He worked nights at a Waffle House so he'd come in after getting off at 7, wake me up, I'd get ready for work and be out the door by 8 so I could be to work by 8:30, give or take with traffic. The morning started in it's usual rush with me getting up after hitting the snooze several hundred times. We didn't take time to turn the television on or anything, we just rushed out the door. We only had one vehicle at the time and if he had anything to do during the day while I was at work, he'd drop me off at work and take the truck.
Anyway, we piled quickly into the truck and down the road we went. My normal morning routine was to of course channel surf through the radio stations to find something on. We lived close to I-440 and we would take it to the west side of Nashville to the building that I worked in. We jumped on I-440 and in the time it took us to get there I'd resigned to listening to anything but talk because out of all of my stations, that was all that was on, admittedly not listening to what the talk was about, just hearing the talk and changing the station. I clicked on a local rock station 107.5 The River and decided I'd leave it there because I was in the mood for that type of music. It wasn't until my husband and I stopped to listen to what was going on that we heard the news. The first jet at this time had just struck the North Trade Center Tower.
I remember looking at my husband just completely in awe at the tragedy that had just befallen New York City. A plane had just crashed into one of the hugest icons in the country. My husband looked at me and I will never forget the look in his eyes when he said "This is a terrorist attack." I stared at him for a moment and shook my head in disbelief. This was a tragedy. How could this be a terrorist attack? Who would do it? It was that moment that the second plane crashed into the South Tower. I remember we were just getting on the ramp to hit I-440 from I-65 and I took a deep breath, looked back at him and said "Oh my God. You're right. This is a terrorist attack." I remember my first thought was to call my mama. Granted, she didn't live anywhere near New York City, but I had to call her. My husband and at I at the time didn't have the first access to cell phones at the time and there were quite a few questions. Was I going to be at work? Would they keep us working that day or send us home because of this aggressive and unjust attack on our great nation?
He drops me off at work where I'm told, true enough this tragedy has happened but working for home health, people still need their care and medicine. So I run back out and let my husband know, we do have a responsibility to our patients but that I would be getting off at normal time and we'd go from there. At work there was no real conversation. Everyone was in awe and everyone at their desks listening to their radio's or upstairs gathered around the only television we had in the building. Now at work, realizing my work phone was not to be used for personal calls and not really caring, I called my mama at work to talk to her. She said that at their job they were too all gathered around the television but that everything was okay. My next line of business was to call my daddy. He was at home and I knew it was a big chance that he would actually answer the phone because mom had said he'd worked the night before. He worked nights at the time all the time then. I tried anyway and of course, got the answering machine. Shortly, I too was plugged into my radio, not doing too much with my patient load except waiting for them to call in and talk to me as thankfully at the time, my patient load was pretty small.
I had been at work a short bit over an hour when the first tower fell. I heard it on the radio and immediately called my mama again. She said that she'd seen it on the television there at work. She worked odd hours going in at like 4 in the morning to stock inventory but she got off at noon and I knew in a couple of hours she'd be on her way home. I called the local restaurant and talked to my husband. We talked for a few minutes and he told me that he'd called and talked to his mom and dad, and of course, with them living locally we knew they'd be alright, but still we wanted to check.
The rest of the day in all honesty was a complete and utter blur. I think I talked to all of about 3 patients the entire day, one of which I remember lived in DC and actually got through on the phone to talk to me. When it was all said and done 5 o'clock took SO LONG to get there but by the time it did, I was so ready to see my husband and just go home and hold him for the rest of the night. All that mattered the whole day was just being with him and how much I loved him. We ordered in pizza that night for dinner and we did just that. I will never forget falling asleep in his arms that night, feeling terrible for the people that were going through everything like that, but so thankful that we lived in Nashville and not New York.
This was a day that made the nation angry at the injustices of a world that we live in for the sheer fact of how we believe. It's so hard for me to write about this even now without crying and thinking about the things that we take for granted every day. A long time ago I remember being at a church function and looking across the table at my aunt who was in absolute tears while they did the National Anthem. And I was just a kid. It didn't make any sense to me that anyone would cry over something as simple as the National Anthem. I now cry too almost every time I hear the National Anthem because of what it stands for. The tragedy in itself caused an uproar of patriotism in the country that in my opinion should have been there all along. We as a people need to remember what makes this country great! Freedom. Don't take it for granted. Because we are the only nation in this world that has it.
Today's blog is in remembrance of those who died on September 11, 2001. The men and woman, the fathers, mothers, husbands, wives, sons, daughters, aunts, uncles, sisters, brothers and friends. The police men, the fire fighters, the people just doing their jobs that day, the hero's that had no idea what they were in for waking up that morning and getting ready for just another day at work. To the people that died in New York, as well as DC and Pennsylvania. The brave people who refused to let the plane be taken over and died fighting for it. To the people that lived and are able to go on every day and remember what happened and live with that patriotism, and share it along the way.
We will NEVER forget.
Thursday, September 10, 2009
This morning, I went in to the doctors office and got a 4 hour glucose test done for gestational diabetes. The first test came back a little high. (5 points, barely over the limit). So here's me...pretty high threshold for pain. By the time they were done using me as a human pin cushion I was crying like a baby. People...my tattoo didn't hurt this bad! In fact in comparison, my tattoo didn't hurt at all!!! And it makes me all the more confident that when I get my next tat (Which will be my daughters middle name and maybe birth date), it won't hurt either! So the doc has put me off work until further notice. I'm not to do anything stressful or strenuous until further notice. Good times for me huh? I can't complain too bad though, maybe it will be good for me. I'm gonna need a lot of books!
After all of that took place my doctor wanted to see me about my blood pressure problems with everything and he sat my husband and I down and talked to us about my daughter being our first and only child. There have been so many complications as of yet that he is truly concerned for my health and the health of the baby if I do proceed in getting pregnant again. He actually gave me a pamphlet on a permanent birth control and told me to look it over. I trust this doctor with my life and with my child's life. He absolutely would NOT have given me that unless he was serious about the issues entailed. My husband and I have a lot of discussing to do I guess. I mean, I've joked about my daughter being our only, but actually going through the process to ensure that she is our only, that's a huge step for me.
Now I want to talk about something that I've been taking very special interest in lately. Here is my political rant. And it's not really a rant, just a concern I'd like to put out there to think about. This new health care program that our ever knowing president has been pushing for scares the hell right out of me people. And you know, the point that I am concerned about has got nothing to do with the fact of being republican or democrat. It has everything in the world to do with the fact that I am a granddaughter of the best grandma in the world (I am NOT bias...I'm just sayin) and how this is going to affect her.
Now first off, why is he so damned pushy about getting this health care plan under way? I mean, don't get me wrong, I think a health care reform for this nation would be a good thing. The insurance companies and things have gotten way out of hand and if you don't believe me just turn on the television and watch all the commercials about the money hungry atty's out there that are willing to throw these Rx companies under the bus due to side effects on medicines that doctors put these patients on. And I'm talking the big named ones too. Here recently there has been one that they have been showing about this birth control Yaz. If you've had problems with this or that or someone has died as a result of taking this product call our law office...blah blah blah...WHAT!? Ok really!? Watch the commercial for Yaz in spacific! It tells you right on the freaking commercial...this and that can happen...blah blah...especially if you are over 30 and you smoke you increase your risk of this and that side effect...IT'S ON THE FREAKING COMMERCIAL! I know damn well that if it's on the commercial people, it's on the side effects list that you get from the pharmacy. And especially IN the side effects list you get from the pharmacy if you pay attention it says that if you suffer from any side effects not listed seek medical attention immediately. Oh but there I said it right there didn't I? If YOU pay attention and read the list YOURSELF! The drug companies put that information specifically on the outside of the bags at the pharmacy as a bright red flag! How much more in your face do you need this to be? And if YOU can't read it BEFORE you take the medicine and talk to your doctor about it, how is it the responsiblity of the pharmacy or drug company? THAT needs to stop right there.
I also agree that everyone should be insured. Especially those who do not have the means to afford expensive insurance programs. And don't get me wrong, I am not above paying MY TAX DOLLARS to go toward this. Anything I can do to help those in need, I'm fully ammenable. Especially when it comes to my family. All of you that know me know that my family is a HUGE thing with me. But one of the BIG things about this great reform plan that worries me is what happened on July 31, 2009. The big news conference that all of America saw on ABC that night when they did a network special for health care. The big question was asked: "Mr. President, will you and your family give up your current health care program and join the new 'Universal Health Care Program' that the rest of us will be on?" to which our fearless leader IGNORED THE QUESTION AND CHOSE NOT TO ANSWER IT!!! Ok...um is it just me or does that right there in itself scare anyone but me? The man that is supposed to be our leader, the man who is running our United States and is supposed to lead by example will not only not answer the question? It goes a bit further than that folks. It unfortunately doesn't stop there. As he refused to answer the question and some of the senators and other congressional officials were asked that question in the coming weeks all with the answer of "We'll think about it..." around mid August they announced in the news that the "Kennedy Health Care Bill" was written into the new Health Care Reform Initiative, ensuring that congress will be 100% EXEMPT from the health care initiative.
Ok WHAT!? Does that not bother anyone but me!? The man that is supposed to lead by example, that believes in this reform that he's trying so damn hard to push, is exempt? It's good enough for my grandma but not for his wife and kids!? I don't think so!!! That's bull shit! Forgive the language...but NO! That's crap! That is MY grandma being affected. And potentially MY family that is going to be affected if it goes through for everyone, myself included. Oh but wait...Congress is exempt! So I guess then in a few years when I'm old enough I'll run for president so that I can be exempt from this great reform that is going to take over. Anyway, this is what I have to say on that! Take it for what you want. Just my opinion! Until later folkses!
~ME~
Wednesday, September 09, 2009
LoL! Submitted for your approval, you have just entered the Twilight Zone. I know right!? LoL! Anyway, my daughter is definitely testing me. I didn't think my doctor would put me on any more medication for blood pressure, but I was wrong. He's upped my dose once more. Now I'm taking it 3 times a day and quite honestly, I'm a little worried I'm gonna bottom out. I've done that before. I say that but dang if I still can't get it to quit spiking. Then I have my moments of absolute ARGH like I had earlier today, and it's no wonder it spikes. I dunno. You know, I have my issues going on. How am I supposed to just turn off my freaking brain and deal with them later? It's so easy for everyone and their brother to tell me, "Oh just don't worry about it." and it's quite another to actually do it. I think that's a huge part of my problem right there. I just can't turn this brain of mine off. It never rests. Sometimes not even at night.
Here lately I've been having the worst nightmares. I've literally been waking up gasping for air and not able to breathe. My husband has woken me up twice because I've woke him up with my dreams. I don't understand it at all and let me tell you, I don't like it one bit! UGH!
On a lighter note though a friend of mine was in the local paper today! I was so tickled to see it! I told her she needed to come over and sign my paper. Anyway, that's all for now. Long 4 hour glucose test tomorrow. UGH! Wish me luck that it comes back that I don't have gestational diabetes. They say that in 80% of the cases it is typically Type 2 diabetes that they didn't see before the pregnancy. Ugh I do NOT need that on top of everything else. Only time will tell. Until later folkses!!!!
Smooches! ~ME~
Saturday, September 05, 2009
Ok and I have to say also that you know for a long time unsweet tea has been my pregnancy craving, until recently. Strawberry Fruit Bars (Frozen) or the Strawberry Fruitista Freeze from Taco Bell. And really, since we're on the subject of Taco Bell, I've totally been craving double decker taco's with no meat and those El Monterey Bean & Cheese burrito's in the frozen foods section. Ok really...I don't hate Taco Bell, but DANG it's not my most favorite place to eat! Lord the things this child makes me eat! And of course I'm going to indulge her. What am I gonna tell her no? She's still in the womb! She'd make me miserable if I said no to her. She feels the power already! LoL!
A friend of mine called me recently and we were talking about how much of a tomboy my daughter is probably gonna wind up being. I mean think about it. Her mama races and works on (fixes) cars, her daddy fishes and works on (fixes) tractors, I mean really? She's liable to come out asking for a pack of worms (Chartruse...NOT Watermellon) and a set of socket wrenches for Christmas. And I couldn't be prouder! She's gonna go to prom in a camoflage dress and she'll probably be the one driving the pick up. Anyway...until tomorrow folkses!!!
~ME~
Thursday, September 03, 2009
Yesterday while in the hospital, they had me strapped to a baby heartbeat monitor and a contraction monitor. They first had to find her then they strapped the monitor on. Well Wiggle Butt herself wouldn't stop moving. She finally calmed down enough to keep it steady on the heartbeat. Which of course was healthy! Thanking God for that. Well toward the end of the hospital stay she figured out that when she moved against the monitor, because they had the monitor on kinda loud, that it made a noise that she could hear, and that she was the one causing that noise. Well once she realized this, she was absolutely fascinated and she kicked it, hit at it and moved against it, just to hear herself moving. It was so funny. Anyway I had to share. Hope that she stops giving me such a hard time. Later peoples.
~ME~
Sunday, August 30, 2009
~ME~
Saturday, August 29, 2009
Then we went to the mall. There is a store in there that is all about...okay it's a pot smokers dream shop! I love it! Though I can proudly say I've NEVER smoked pot or done any kind of recreational drug in my life, this place is awesome! They sell hermit crabs, lots of hand made leather stuff, ooh, it's a gypsy type store. Anyway I got a couple more leather bracelets for myself (Like I needed them, but I love them!!!!) and I got one for the hubby. It had a blank plate and I was able to hit another store in the mall that does engraving. It was really neat to be able to do something special for him and get the engraving done. Last night he was talking to the baby in bed and she was just moving around, so I just put something simple on there that he said last night. It was really neat and I think he really likes it. He says he does so that's good enough for me. :-) And in the midst of all of it...I got my first pairs of maternity pants today. They are SO COMFORTABLE! I'm going back for more tomorrow.
Then I stopped okay I have to talk about this. Okay my hubby and I went a couple of weeks ago and stopped by one of those kiosks in the mall and you know, they stop you and rub your hands with the lotion or whatever. This one was for Dead Sea Salt. The thing that caught our eye was a bottle that they were talking about circulation for people that have diabetes. It is an "Intensive Foot Treatment" that has Dead Sea Salt and Eucalyptus Oil as the base. Well they sold us the salt base itself for the skin with some body butter for the thing and the foot treatment. We splurged a little bit and spent the extra funds to get all 3 not knowing what we were getting. Now first off the stuff lasts forever. It's well worth it. It's going to last us 6 months on the salt itself and that's with 2 of us using it once a week. The foot treatment is going to last between 9 to 12 months and the body butter will most likely last me at least 18 months and she gave me the soap for the face. Oh my gosh! I swear by this stuff! First off my stretch marks are DECREASING, my skin feels amazing and I suffer from migraines. The foot stuff for circulation works WONDERS on migraines! Take it from someone who found out on accident, it's AMAZING! I can't say enough about this stuff. So guys out there, I'm not kidding, if you are in the mall around work (For those of you that live close to me) and you see their stand in the middle of the mall about Dead Sea Salt products, INVEST! The stuff is worth the money for it. And I don't like spending money for anything!
Well, that's all for today. I had a GREAT day with the cuz today. It was so much fun to just hang out and my daughter really enjoyed the walk from today. I think I'm going to see what I can do to walk more often. She seems to really enjoy the stimulation for it. And my day without my phone was a complete success! It was very liberating! Side note...for the one person who will know what I mean by this (Ricky Bobby), Steve has found a home. The owner took him home and apparently now that he is on his own in a home no at the store, he's a whole new little guy. She said he's stopped tearing up the sponges, he's stopped being aggressive, he comes out of his shell and crawls around without snapping and everything. He's a very happy hermit crab now. Later folks!
~ME~
~ME~
Wednesday, August 26, 2009
And really, what would I say anyway? He's here. He didn't fall from 32' up and he's definitely still alive. So long as he doesn't have anything internal going on, we'll be good. Pray that there's nothing internal. But that's it for now. Gonna read my new Iris Johansen book that just came in the mail today! Woo hoo! I love her work. Old, new, romance, mystery, it don't matter. They're all good! Later folkses!
~ME~
I went to the OB yesterday and let me tell you, I like him more than I do my PCP. He's very knowledgeable. My PCP took me off of my blood pressure/migraine medicine and my depression medicine because they are both "Category C" drugs meaning I don't need to be on them in the third tri-mester of my pregnancy. No problem. Well my OB has actually been an amazing help through the weaning off process of both meds. While there was no major issues that I knew of with my blood pressure medicine I had some rough issues with the depression med. Well I went in yesterday because I had a bad migraine which I knew was from coming off of my medicine and I called the nurse at the OB and she said to come in and let doc see me so that he could prescribe something else. I got in and my blood pressure was 135/108. That is very high for me and especially during pregnancy. It concerned him. He wanted me immediately to lie down and see if it would drop and if it did, great.
Thankfully it did. A lot! SO he sent me home with a replacement blood pressure med that's both safe for me and the baby and told me to rest all day yesterday. I did and let me tell you, I feel great this morning. It's amazing what happens when you see a doctor that know's what he's doing! The best things happen, let me tell you! LoL! You actually start feeling good! Anway, that is about all that's been going on lately. I've been slowly but surely getting the baby's room in order. Good times huh? I stand again and say... I HATE MOVING!!!! BLAH! It's so strange.
The roommate is in mine and the hubbys old room (The master bedrooom), the hubby and I are in the guest room, and the baby's room is the roommates old room. Let me tell you, it's SO STRANGE! And funny enough I have been so worried that I would go to the bathroom in the middle of the night and the not thinking about it, walk into and crawl into bed with my roommate who is now in our old bedroom that I actually dreamed about it last night. It was freaky! When I woke up I had to tell my husband. It was so funny. In my dream I freaked out the roommate (Ok, I'm going to reffer to him as Mr2 from now on. It's just a lot easier.) So in my dream I freaked Mr2 out so bad he wanted to move out. It was so funny. LoL! Anyway, that's all I have for this morning. I will most definitely be blogging on here a lot more than I have in the past. Just so much easier! LoL! Later peeps!
~ME~
Friday, January 30, 2009
Things have been more than crazy in my life. It's been one roller coaster after another. I've learned recently how to deal with things. And I have been tested repeatedly. Friends have had major issues and I can proudly say that I have been very blessed to have done very well with all issues. And it's been a vast array, let me tell you. I've been to the point to where I hit rock bottom and I've crawled back out. I've got a great therapist that I truly enjoy going to and have been blessed with amazing friends and family for support. My husband and I have decided to try for children and our animals are growing as well as our family. I am happy to report that all is well. Hopefully we will have more later. Holla peoples!!!!!!!!!!!
Wednesday, May 14, 2008
Trust. What is trust? Can you trust yours special someone with your heart? Can you? Can you trust your friend with your heart? Can you trust your best friend with your darkest secrets? Can you trust your parents with your life? Can you trust anyone with your life? Can you trust your friends for the truth? Can you trust your husband or wife with your life or your heart? Can you trust them with your darkest secrets? Can you trust your boss to tell you when you screw up when it happens instead of when you get your review? Can you trust yourself not to get stupid every once in a while?
I don’t know. I’d like to think that I can trust my friends with my heart. I know I can trust my best friends with my darkest secrets and the truth. I know that I can trust my special someone with my heart. I feel like I can trust my boss and I know that I can trust my special someone with anything that might confront us. But alas I have to ask, can I trust myself not to get stupid? The answer is simple. No.
Now why is that? Why is it that I can trust my husband with my heart and my darkest secrets, I can trust my friends with the truth and my best friends with my darkest secrets, but I can’t trust myself to not get stupid? Why is it, that I have my own insecurities about anything that might rear it’s ugly head? Why do turn into an absolute smart ass when I get into an argument with someone? Why do I push people’s buttons until I get the screaming and the yelling and the door slammed in my face? (Not in the literal tense mind you...but metaphorically speaking.) Why do I do this to myself? Why is it so easy for me to turn into Queen B? Why do I constantly ask the question why? Can anyone tell me?
Friday, April 25, 2008
So call it the drunken stupor right now or what ever but I'm inspired at the moment to write a quick story about my brother. 2 reasons I know he's supposed to be on this earth.
Reason 1: When my brother was 3 years old we were at a family trip with our camper. We were with friends and family. My brother proceeds to fall face first into the fire. Now, I remember screaming and then I remember my dad being right there, reaching into the flames and pulling my brother out of the camp fire. So while he pulls him up and out, I notice white doves. And it strikes me as odd because these doves fly out of the flames that my brother had just been in. My daddy pulls him out and there is not a single singed hair on his head that has been so much as singed. Now my brother had fallen into the fire and was in there for at least 5-10 seconds before my dad pulled him out.
Reason 2: My brother and I are on a dock when we were younger. I think my brother was 6 or 7 by this time. I go to walk past him and he is in my way. I proceed to walk but am closer to him than I realize and I proceed to push him off the dock and into the St. Claire River in Michigan. Now for those of you not from Michigan let me explain, this is a river that has a constant under tow and if you fall in kiss your ass good-bye. So he falls in. I was taught when someone falls in that you scream "Man Overboard". So I proceed and my dad jumps in the river and alas, my brother is saved again. By my daddy. I haven't even thought about that.
Anyway, getting off point here. Regardless. My brother is supposed to be here for something. So I love ya bro. Hang in there. You know you're family and I always got your back bro. Love Ya!
Saturday, April 19, 2008
Ok so this is a pretty touchy subject in the norm. But I just have to put this out there. Most of you know that I am Republican. I know, I know. Political bureaucracy and what not gets my mojo going and when something really irks me I have to put it out there, so that's all this is.
Ok so those of you who know me (More some than others) know that I love the Disney Channel. Call me a big kid at heart, whatever. But the last thing I want to see when I'm watching my shows (Especially my CARTOONS) is when you are watching an episode and low and behold, they throw PC crap right in your face! I have 2 examples of this. I love the Disney Show The Replacements. Great cartoon. Well the other night (Now mind you I was half asleep) the daughter gets kidnapped by the evil doer right? Ok so his evil plan is to melt all the ice in the far north and far south and do something with the water or something. So anyway the daughter starts arguing with him about the fact that if he did it would cause a major climate shift and blah, blah, blah same Global Warming crap we've been hearing about in forever. Right? Ok so he gets mad at her because of the logical sense she's making and then she goes...in the cartoon mind you..."Whats the matter? Is the truth a little too inconvenient for you?" Ok right there I was like - Skerch! Beep, beep, beep, beep. Back up a second. Little chica just said what!?
I also happen to like a little show that comes on Saturday mornings called Johnny and The Sprites. Cutest show you'd see. Definitely for kids but hey, you're talking about me here. LoL. Ok so regardless here I am watching it this morning and Johnny has sprayed something for his garden or something. I was half asleep this morning. So anyway something he sprayed made "the plants, the water and the air sick." So they proceed to summon Mother Nature who goes on to say that we can all help to clean up our planet.
Come on people! That's like buying a porno and seeing a political add on there. (I don't know the recipe I'm just sayin!) And I guess in all honesty, the Johnny and The Sprites thing isn't too awful bad. It's no worse than when I grew up with Captain Planet. But honestly, the Replacements thing... REALLY FROST'S MY COOKIES! There are a lot of people out there that wouldn't get that reference anyway so why waste the time putting it in there? Honestly? Who cares? Now I'm not saying we shouldn't all do our part, but honestly, using Disney to try to make a point on a theory is tactless. Anyway, that's what I think.
Holla!
Tuesday, April 15, 2008
He blogs on Monday April 14th and I have to admit his opinion is quite compelling. Please feel free to see what I mean.
True Character: Here's a touching and revealing story about John McCain in Slate - an excerpt from a 1997 New York Times Magazine profile on the Senator: "A nurse entered and seemed surprised to find anyone there, and it wasn't long before I found out why: Almost no one visits anymore. In his time, which was not very long ago, Mo Udall was one of the most-sought-after men in the Democratic Party. Yet as he dies in a veterans hospital a few miles from the Capitol, he is visited regularly only by a single old political friend, John McCain." (hat tip - Tom McMahon)
Here's an entirely different character story ...
They Call Me Mister Condescension: Last week, Barack Obama uttered something very revealing: "You go into some of these small towns in Pennsylvania, and like a lot of small towns in the Midwest, the jobs have been gone now for 25 years and nothing's replaced them. And they fell through the Clinton administration, and the Bush administration, and each successive administration has said that somehow these communities are gonna regenerate and they have not. So it's not surprising then that they get bitter, they cling to guns or religion or antipathy to people who aren't like them or anti-immigrant sentiment or anti-trade sentiment as a way to explain their frustrations."
Is it just me, or does this piss anyone else off but me? Ok first off, since when is Pennsylvania in the Midwest Poindexter!? Second off, where does he get off implying that we as American citizens are bitter because of people who aren't like us!? Isn't that what the terrorists that bombed the US did that for? Because they were bitter toward people who weren't like them? We didn't believe like they did? You don't see us as American citizens going around blowing things up to show our frustrations as Mr. Obama is so well implying! Why do we cling to guns? Because it's people like that who let everyone else on this earth run all over us American Citizens.
What happened to the original founding principals that made this country great? Chew on that!
That's all I have to say for now.
Sunday, March 30, 2008
How is it that 2 people can fall in love and work their butts off to build a home and a life for themselves and everything on paper seems great, but then you get down to it. Life is rough. It's a struggle. And then the economy comes in there and kicks ya right in the balls.
Like for instance gas prices. You know my husband and I got an F-150. He got it for me for Christmas 2 years ago. Back then, gas was $1.96/gallon and with 2 incomes coming in, it wasn't all that bad. We were able to buy a house, a little bit of property and we were ok.
And then the gas hit over $3 a gallon. Now, we spend a little under $1k in gas to get back and forth to work for a month. Thats more than a house payment! We have family all over the country and we can't hardly see them because we can't afford gas. And saving money? What's that!? There's a snowball's chance of that happening! We can barely make it from paycheck to paycheck with the way it is now. And our raises at work. Hah! We haven't started making $2/hr more in the last 2 years, but the gas has sure gone up $2/gallon! Where does it end people? When will we be able to support our families, and put gas in the tank?
Why does it have to be such a struggle for my husband and I to just make it day to day? He kills himself trying to make sure our bills are paid and I don't know anyone who doesn't have a second job any more. Everyone wants to know why there are no jobs in America. WAKE UP! There's no jobs because the lazy people refuse to go out and get one while they complain about no jobs, when the working man goes out there and they take 2 part timers, and fill that full time position that you were complaining about you didn't want or didn't get for whatever reason! Grow up, take the reins and get the job! Believe me, if we can all get a part time job flippin burgers so we can make our bills, guess what, you can get the full time job!
That's all I have to say for tonight. Just a rantfest! Thanks for listening!
Holla~
Me
Saturday, February 23, 2008
Ok so a lot of my thoughts lately seem to be updates. I know, I know. Sorry about that folkses. My life is just as busy as all gets out. I'm writing a book right now and with any luck will have it published. My husband has been extremely supportive of my writing. As well as a couple of my co-workers. One that sits beside me in particular. My props go out to my religious friend. I will call him...Hmmm, what's a good name for ya? Lamb. I will call him Lamb. Lamb has had the daunting task of setting next to me at work listening to my ramblings.
I also have a new guard dog. His name is Turtle. He is a Beagle/Bird Dog mix and some parts of his body (Bless his little puppy heart) doesn't know if his fur is supposed to be long or short so he has most of his fur on his face short with a few stray long ones. His body is the same way I'm sure but it's harder to tell. Oh and he's got this little beard...ugh. Everyone falls in love with his big brown eyes. It's hard not to.
Anyway. Other than that its ok. Pooh Bear took the cuz and around looking at tornado damage from the area today. It was devastating. There were complete houses that were just gone. And my girl Murph is doing a lot better now. Honestly I don't know why I have been so protective over her lately. I mean it's not a bad thing, unless I'm overbearing Murph...in that case let me know. But honestly, she called me the other night and drunk or not I was ready to drive out and kick some guys butt that I didn't know because he messed with her. You don't mess with my friends or my family! I don't care who you are, if I find out you looked at them cross eyed I will find out about it and I will fault you for it!
Other than that its good. Craziness about my life definitely surrounds me but oh my gosh would it be boring or what if I wasn't surrounded with this Chaos! UGH! Anyway, life is life, the earth keeps spinning and time keeps ticking. Life is what you make it. So go out there and live it to the best of your abilities. Smile even when you hurt. You never know who needs it.
Holla peeps!
Me
Friday, November 09, 2007
So much has happened since I blogged last. So ok its been like 4 months. A lot has happened. My business partner has been injured. My full time job is still hanging in there. Lots of team changes and position changes. Nothing bad mind you. Always hesitant at first but nothing serious once all said and done. It just keeps changing. And hey, business is business and will always change, but I buck against it every time. Its just my thing.
One of my girls...I will call her Murph...is going through a major time with the loss of a loved one right now. I have so much pain inside for her because of what I went through with my grandpa when I lost him. And she's got the worse side of the whole deal. But, I can say, thankfully for her, she had a chance to see him once more before he passed, just as I did. As it was very sudden that she lost her family member, she still got to say good-bye.
Things like this make you realize just how short life is. And just how important it is to tell your loved one's that you love them. Because you never know. You never know! I hope this reaches to every heart weather hot or cold and you out there realize that life is short. Tell those you love, that you love them. Tell those you are mad at why you are mad. You may not ever have the chance again, and they may never know. I learned that the hard way too!
Thats all I have for tonight. Holla peeps!
Saturday, July 21, 2007
Ok so things have been like totally crazy on this end. I swear, it has been one family gathering after another. Not that I am complaining, I love my family, but a quiet house is just what one needs after several weekends of company.
Life is still life and work is still work. Work sucks sometimes ya know? I am concidering going to work for a friend of mine. Nothing major, just something part time. I am a little scared at the thought of going into business though. Its a big step. Its nothing that I am going to decide on now, there is still a lot of negotiation to go into, however, I am definitely concidering.
Have you ever had one of those opportunities come up, that just felt right? It just felt like something that was right for you? This is one of those opportunities, and while it is going to take a lot of talking...and probably reassurance from my husband, I think I am going to go for it. Anyway, other than that, like I said, life is life and work is work. Nothing major to report. (Thank God above!) Thats about all for now.
Holla
Monday, May 28, 2007
Ok I have just been informed of a commercial on the TV for a company that makes Khaki's involving "Making Things Right" with the Cable Guy. Lets just say that I have written a letter to this company. For those of you who don't know, both my brother and my husband are Communications Technicians for 2 separate cable companies in my area.
First off, it portrays the cable guy to be both beligerant and unprofessional. I know a lot of the guys that work in the cable field, mostly friends and family of my husband and my brother. None of them are that unprofessional. They do not drive up on your curb and they absolutely DO NOT tell you .. the customer .. that you are lucky that they are even there much less being late. You have no idea what they have to go through on a daily basis and if the cable guy is late to your house, there is most times a call and an extremely good explanation as to why they are late. Contrary to most misconceptions, cable guys as public servers are not late, to make your life hell. And if you have someting important that you need to get to like, oh I don't know, a recital for your daughter as portrayed in the commercial...RESCHEDULE THE DAMN THING AND MAKE IT TO THE RECITAL! IS YOUR CABLE THAT FREAKING SERIOUS? UNPLUG YOURSELF FROM THE TV ANYWAY! BE CONSTRUCTIVE WITH YOUR TIME!
Oh and then second off, the guys that are "upset" because the cable guy was both late and unprofessional these guys pull the ladder off the roof so that the cable guy can't get down and they commence to trying to "make a deal" with the cable guy. ARE YOU KIDDING ME!!!!???? What the Hell is that!? The guy is stranded on the roof. Oh, and then they show the cable guy threatening to kick the guys ass when he gets down off the roof. Ok...REALITY CHECK! My husband might kick your ass when he gets down off the roof, but he's not going to threaten you! And there is no telling him that oh you'll be back to put the ladder on the roof between the hours of 7-11 and will most likely be late like he was. No, at that point the supervisor would be called out, and they would probably black ball you from their services for ENDAGERING THE LIFE OF THE TECHNICIAN!
COME ON PEOPLE. THIS IS A VERY GROSS PORTRAYAL OF A COMMON MISCONCEPTION IN MOST EVERY DAY PEOPLE OUT THERE. THESE GUYS HAVE FAMILIES, THE HAVE HUSBANDS/WIVES, THEY HAVE KIDS, THEY HAVE PEOPLE TO GO HOME TO MOST OF THE TIME THAT ARE JUST AS FRUSTRATED AS YOU ARE BECAUSE GUESS WHAT, IF THEY ARE LATE GETTING TO YOU, THEY ARE LATE GETTING HOME! THEY ARE LATE FOR DINNER, THEY ARE LATE GETTING TO SPEND TIME WITH THEIR KIDS BEFORE BED TIME, THEY ARE LATE GETTING TO SEE THEIR HUSBANDS OR WIVES BEFORE THEY HAVE TO GET TO BED! HAVE A LITTLE RESPECT FOR THESE GUYS PEOPLE! YOU HAVE NO IDEA WHATSOEVER WHAT THESE GUYS GO THROUGH ON A DAILY BASIS. YOU HAVE NO IDEA WHAT KIND OF TRAINING THEY GO THROUGH TO GET THE POSITIONS THEY ARE IN...INCLUDING HOW TO DEAL WITH A CUSTOMER, IRATE OR NOT! UGH! HAVE A LITTLE COMPASSION! YOU THINK THEIR JOBS ARE SO EASY?! WHAT, ALL THEY HAVE TO DO IS COME HOOK UP YOUR CABLE AND FIX THE PROBLEM? YOU GO OUT THERE AND GET THE JOB AS THE CABLE GUY! YOU DO THEIR JOBS. I GUARANTEE AFTER A WEEK OF TRAINING, YOU'LL BE GLAD YOU DON'T WORK THERE!
Anyway, wanted to get that out! Holla!
Monday, May 21, 2007
Ok so some of the women out there are all against the war. You spout that its not right that our men are dying over there so that we can...what? For what? What are they dying for? Let me tell you.
They are fighting and yes at times dying, so that I can go to the store in the middle of the day, with a pair of cut off shorts and a tank top with sandals on my feet. They are fighting for my right to get dressed up and make up on to go out on a date with my husband. They are fighting for my right to vote, as well as my right to go to work every day to help support my family which is something that I love. I am proud to have that right....AND YOU SHOULD BE TOO! Some of you women out there cannot leave your house to go to the mailbox without "putting on your face". NONE of the women in Iraq, know what eye liner is, much less putting on their faces. Women in Iraq can't vote, they can't go out with even an ounce of skin showing. When they go grocery shopping they are supposed to wear 10lbs of clothing. To go to the store! They aren't allowed to voice their opinions on anything! So now I ask you, WHERE DO YOU GET OFF?!
Things I am sure you take for granted in your day to day lives. You have a drivers license for 1. You can yell and scream and call someone a bitch for taking your parking spot, without getting stoned or getting your arm chopped off. You can go out into public and smile. They have things in the store made for us women to be pretty. So that we can whiten our smiles, so that the public can notice your beautiful white teeth that have no enamel on them. You can entertain a guest at a kegger at your house. You can ask a guy out on a date. You are allowed to carry a cell phone, as well as yacking on it while driving down the road. I'm not gonna get started on that one again!
You can go to a department store and buy panties and a bra that match. There is a reason it is called Victorias Secret, and not Victorias Seclusion! You can have a girls night out with your best friends! You can have a weekend with the girls. You can go to the gym and work out. You can take a jog in the park. You can take your kids to the park. You can run your own business, be the president of a corporation, be the boss. You can be the one in charge. Not the one who's NEVER in charge. You can be a politician. Even one that accepts votes of dead people and convicted felons then tells everyone that its because your a black democrat and turn it into a racial thing instead of being upset that the votes were in there in the first place. You can have your opinion, and voice it, instead of having your opinion given to you. You can have a blog and write how you feel. You have access to the internet, and you can read how I feel, and make your own opinion of it. In Iraq, women can't come out of their own front doors without permission. They cannot go to war because they want to, they're not allowed to go to college, have friends, host Bridge parties while the husbands are at work, watch TV, listen to the radio...Do I need to go on?
In the end, it all comes down to the fact that as women in America, we can make changes in our lives, in our society, and in our world. Change is power. A power that has been far too long denied to the women of Iraq.
Monday, April 30, 2007
Ok you know what really irritates me? WOMEN DRIVERS! Ok I am one and I have more consideration than most of these women out here. PAY ATTENTION TO WHAT YOU ARE DOING! GET A FREAKIN HEADSET SO THAT YOU CAN CONCENTRATE ON WHAT YOU ARE DOING! AND STOP GETTING SO CLOSE TO MY BUMPER THAT I COULD FLICK A BUGER ON YOUR WINDSHIELD! BECAUSE ONE OF THESE DAYS...I'M GOING TO!
Ok here's another thing that is slightly disturbing. Ok I like to visit my friends profiles on myspace. I got on there playing around thinking about setting up an account and what do I see there on the front page? New people. And who would be one of the newest members of myspace? Hillary Clinton! I kid you not! It disturbs me that she is running for president. I am not above seeing a woman president in the house, but you know, why does it have to be her? First off...democrat. Ok don't get me started on that one. Second...She's already served her 8 years when her husband was in office because he was too busy playing around with interns to care about the nation! Woo he decreased the national debt. Ok I'll give him that...but where was he in '93 when Bin Laden said he would bring the towers down? Oh wait...Care to take that one Ms. L? Because something went down...but I don't think it was that. What happened to the middle class tax cut Mrs President? What happened to the universal health care? Its funny to me that the same figures he used to propose the middle class tax cut when he was running saying it was possible, were the same figures he used once in office, to say that it wasn't possible. Now lets talk about Bush. Ok so lets see. Tax cut for the middle classman. Hmm, a few years ago didn't we get the nice little tax return? Thank you Mr. Bush! And then ok we have the people who are upset because woo we've decreased the national debt. Big deal. Bush put his foot down and said ENOUGH IS ENOUGH! YOU MESSED WITH THE WRONG PRESIDENT NOW BUCKO! All of these people set here and say "I don't want this war... we need to bring our guys home". Ok but lets look at this shall we? Would you rather have us fighting over there, or would you have them fighting over here? Because lets face it people. If 1 man can walk into a college and kill 26 people with 2 guns, what in the world do you think that 50 terrorists can do? No bombs, just guns. Heaven forbid if we stay over there and let our democratic influences spread there and stop the terrorists where they are. That would just be terrible wouldn't it? I rest my case!
Ok I had other stuff to rant about, but that pretty much filled my thoughts for now. I will rant later when I can remember what the rest of them were. I bid you goodnight for now.
Holla!
Sunday, March 25, 2007
So, I had to put my horse to sleep yesterday. She was 27 years old and her intestines had gotten twisted up. Now for those of you who do not know, most horses don't make it that long, so I was very lucky that I got an extra few years with her. And they were good years too. Up until she got sick she acted like a filly, running through the pasture, kicking and rearing up and playing. So this blog is dedicated to my appaloosa mare.
I first brought her home 12 years ago. She was bought from a couple that did not really know enough about horses. Long story short, she'd been beaten with a 2x4. We didn't realize this until she blew her winter coat one year and she had white fur come up where she'd been hit on the rump with the 2x4's. The day we brought her home we walked her around the property and she laid down on the ground. That is a very rare thing for a horse to do, first thing. Our friend that helped us buy her told us that she was really comfortable here.
So here's me the next night. Totally green about owning a horse, I didn't have the first clue. I went out to see her the next night and my idiot self, left the gate open. Not very far, but enough that curiosity got the best of her and she ventured out into the back yard. And then into the front yard, and managed to find herself on the back porch. When my mama got up the next morning, she came in and got me and told me that I had left the gate open the night before. She knew this of course because of my mare being at the back door. I freaked expecting my first horse to be gone. I ran out of my bedroom, down the hall and blasted out the back door not expecting to have this horse on my back porch. Needless to say, when I got out there, she had a look and whinnied at me as if to say "Come on. Its breakfast time. I'm hungry!" So, of course she followed me back into the pasture, and stood there in her stall, patiently waiting fo her breakfast.
A few weeks had past and I was determined, I was going to learn how to saddle her up, and ride. So I went outside when my mama went to work, and started. She stood there ever so nicely as I brought out the saddle. She knew I had no clue what I was doing. So I put the saddle blanket on her, drug the 40 lb. saddle out with me, put it up on the post that I had set up for it and tried my darndest to figure out what went where and how I was going to manage this.
She was tied very lightly on the barn and there was a lot of slack in the line. So I finally get everything figured out, throw the stirrup and the girth up on the saddle, pick it up, and go to gently set it up on her back. To my frustration, she decides to side step and the saddle falls to the ground. She snickered as to laugh at me and go Neener neener. So I picked up the saddle, and set it on her back carefully, and then commenced to strapping on the girth, which was a task in itself with her help.
I get the girth fastened to the other side of the saddle with ease. I'VE GOT IT! Or so I thought. So I walk her around for a little bit, away from the barn, got to get up in the saddle, put my foot in the stirrup and what happens? The saddle turns to the side? Completely perplexed at the puzzle before me, I just don't undersand why on earth the girth was fastened but the saddle wasnt' staying on her back. She stands there in all of her wonder looking at me like "um, excuse me, fix please." So I walk her back to the barn, tie her up, fix the saddle, and try to figure out why it wasn't staying. As I walk back around, I see that my horse has taken a deep breath and was holding it. So of course, the girth was tight. Until she let her breath out. So she figures out shortly that I have learned of her deviousness.
Finally, after stopping and tightening 3 more times, I have it. The girth is tight, the saddle isn't moving, we're ready to go. So I jump on. I had ridden horse a few times before, and even had one spook on me, so I was comfortable in the saddle. We ride around the yard, I don't dare venture outside the fence and we get going good. She was responding really well to what I asked. We get turned back to the barn and I get her to running. I am so excited right now to feel the rush of a galloping horse, that I am not paying attention to her and she stops on a dime.
I am no where near ready for this, so what do I do? Yep, out of the saddle, up and over her head as she ducks, flat on my back in a mud puddle. I set there stunned for a moment trying to figure out what had just happened to realize, that I still have the reigns in my hand, and my horse is standing over me, face to face, laughing at me. Yep, she thought it was funny as everything.
Determined not to let this stop me, I get up, dust what mud I could off my butt, and climb back in the saddle. We go to riding again. Once again she gallops heading back toward the barn and this time I realize she's heading straight for the mud puddle. She stops on a dime again, but this time, I was ready for her tricks. I shoved my heels down, put my feet forward and when she stopped, I didn't move from that saddle. She took a deep breath, discustedly let it out, and we commenced to riding.
A few weeks later we were doing really good. She was still testing me at times, but nothing major. Until one day. She was trotting, and she tripped. Immediately I stopped her to make sure that she was ok, and walked to where she had tripped and could not find anything. No mole hole, no bumps in the land, nothing. So I check her foot. I hold it up, make sure there is nothing in there to make her foot ouchy and cannot find anything there either. So I get back on. A few minutes later, she trips again. Once again, I get down, check the land, check her foot, nothing. Once again, I get back on. She trips once more and I pay attention to her head. She looks back at me to see if I am going to get back off her this time. I realize her game, tell her to knock it off, she disgustingly sighs again and we go about our ride.
A few short minutes later, she goes to trotting, and coughs. I stop her. I give her a few minuts to take a breather and commence. She coughs again. Once more, I look to her face to see that she again is looking back around to me, to see what my reaction is going to be. I tell her once more to knock it off, she sighs disgustingly, and procedes. In one last attempt to deceive me, she coughs and trips at once. She stops, looks up at me, and I tell her that I know she's playing then and to knock it off.
She had the patience of Job with me. After that moment, we both connected. I started and dared to ride her bareback once. It was a good thing. I rarely used the saddle once I learned how to bareback ride. I remember one time, I was riding down the road and a UPS truck came down the road. I don't know if it was the deer whistles or the roar of the engine but something about it spooked her and she ran. Now as I said before, I had been on a spooked horse before. With a saddle. This time, she side steps, takes to running as most spooked horses do, and because I had just brushed her, I stayed in the same place. Then gravity took effect and down I went. But it was ok. My butt broke the fall to the ground! Instead of standing over me laughing at me this time though, she stopped dead in her tracks, turned around and sniffed me over and nudged at me to make sure I was alright.
Anyway, todays blog, I dedicate to you my friend. You helped me through a nasty divorce, you taught me a lot, and I will never forget you, nor could I ever try. I love you.
Saturday, February 03, 2007
Ok so as most of you know, my mama has had a Cochlear Implant. I cannot tell you how proud I am. Well, she has a support group that meets a few times a year and I am thankful to say that I have been able to attend quite a few of these meetings with her.
Todays meeting was a discussion about the history of the Cochlear Implant and while on the topic the question came from the room as to why it is so hard to get an insurance company to approve dual implants...Or...one in each ear. Now it strikes me as funny in the sense that yes, the implants are expensive. However, tell me something, if you can hear, and have never had an issue hearing in the past nor do you now, how important is your hearing to you?
What is it worth to you, for you to have your hearing? $100 - $1,000 - $10,000...Or maybe even $100,000. What is what you are hearing right now, worth to you? If you heard for your entire life, and say you were in an accident, you hit a transformer and it exploded beside you. And you lived, but the explosion was so loud, that you lost your hearing completely. What would you think to be a fair amount to get your hearing back to where it was? What would it be worth to you? To hear birds chirping, or an approaching storm, or even a refrigerator running.
Or let me put it to you in a different kind of question. If you can hear, and you have been able to hear since birth, how would you explain hearing, to a person that is deaf? Go for it. Right now. Tell me, how would you explain the concept of hearing, to someone that has never heard anything in their life. I tell you what, the surgeon that did my mama's implant told me about a website. I checked it out today. I invite anyone else who is reading this to do the same thing. It shows you a little bit about what advances they have made in the science of hearing and will show you a little bit of what it is like to not hear, and then have the opportunity to hear and actually understand what you are hearing. It is the University of Texas Dallas program. The link is http://www.utdallas.edu/~loizou/cimplants/ and again...I invite anyone reading to take a look at this web-site. Read the tutorial. See what it is like. Better yet, challenge yourself. Plug your ears for a day. For 24 hours so that you cannot hear anything. See what you are missing. Then ask yourself the question...What is it worth to you to hear?
Thats all I have to say for todays blog. I recommend anyone taking a look at that site and see what you can learn from it.
Holla!!!
Friday, December 29, 2006
Man, Ok, why is it that no matter how small the road is, you are bound to run into a freakin biker? And I'm not talking about someone out for a liesurely stroll. I am talking about these pro bikers that are all practicing for some big race.
Ok now let me get one thing straight, first off, I am all about someone biking to better their lives. Don't get me wrong. If you like it and you are practicing for a big race, go for it. BUT DO IT ON A BIG ROAD! STOP PICKING THESE LITTLE ITTY BITTY ROADS THAT FIRST OFF ARE TOO SMALL FOR 2 CARS, MUCH LESS TOO SMALL FOR YOU TO BE PULLING OUT INTO THE ROAD WITH YOUR BIKE WHEN THE CAR COMING DOWN THE ROAD IN THE LANE YOU ARE BOTH TRAVELING WILL BE GOING 50mph WHEN YOU KNOW GOOD AND WELL YOU CAN'T GET YOUR BIKE GOING THAT FAST UNLESS YOU WERE GOING DOWN A 6% GRADE IN THE MOUNTAINS IN PA OR SOMETHING! GET A GRIP!
I mean, come on people, we have to respect you, you're on a bike! What kind of match would that be? But that doesn't mean you have to give us any reason to find out now does it? And another thing, I think that if you are going to use these roads and insist on using them instead of finding someplace that you safely do it without endangering your own lives much less the drivers of the cars. If you are on a road that is windy and curvey and hilly with no shoulder, word to the wise ... DONT RIDE ON IT! We can't see you when we top that hill going 45mph and you are likely going to cause us inadvertantly to do a break check and hope like the dickens that there is no one in the oncoming lane.
Further more, if you insist on riding on your bikes, on these roads and using them like you are able to and following the stop signs and stop lights as well as the speed limits, like you are entitled to, I think you should also be entitled to paying a wheel tax, just like the rest of us do.
Well, that's my rant for the night. I'm not saying I want you to stop riding if you do ride, I just wish you would show us drivers, the same respect that we both do and are expected to show you.
Holla --
Saturday, October 07, 2006
First off I have decided that Saturn, will now be known as Ducky from here on out. Long story, but thats what I am going to call her. The other name change I will be making is Bellvue. I think I have mentioned her. But if not, she will now be known as Poker Chip. Also a long story. Anyway, moving on.
So, I got my truck back. It looks great. The place that did the job was right. Once it was finished you could not even tell that it had been in an accident. Sorry mailbox. Anyway.
Now lets get to the touchy subjects. Wars, politics, .. just kidding. However I will take this moment to discuss something. Everyone knows about the Amish shooting that took place in Pa this last week. Hits a little close to home because I have loved ones that live in the general vacinity. What irritates me even more is when Ducky calls me because while she was listening to Hannity&Colmes on her way to work and they were talking about what most everyone was and a lady got on the line talking about the fact that the Amish girls were not innocent and that they were going to protest at the funerals. Then it hits me.
Turns out that it is the same group that is protesting the funerals of the fallenn soldiers. Well thankfully for the Amish they are so far in the back woods that the idiots couldn't get to them and protest anything. You know what makes me so mad is the fact that they fancy themselves Christians and spout "The word of God" and yet they act like ... never mind. Just leave that to interpretation. How are you going to say you're a Christian and degrade a family and a community now and everything that they believe in. Oh, wait, I guess its because "God hates America" like they say. NOT! GROW UP PEOPLE! If God hated America so bad, then we wouldn't be here! Now would we? Lets see, great flood, plague of locusts ... shall I continue?
Get a grip people. There is a reason that no one wants you around! Get the picture?! Fortuantely for you, God is a very loving and forgiving God and can even see past your idioticness. Just remember, while you cast judgement on those you protest, as will you be judged when you meet your maker.
And that's all I have to say on that. I guess thats about all I have to say for tonight. Not too much else going on here. Few things here and there in the works but don't want to jinx anything so I will bid you a good night and be on my way. Holla!
Friday, August 25, 2006
Ok, so by now everyone knows that my truck is back in the shop. So first off we drop the truck off and the rental car place doesn't even have a car waiting. Now I'm out of state when my husband calls to say that they don't have one. Not because of the rental place didn't save us one, because they didn't, but it was because the insurance company had never called to set up the rental. So they got it all figured out, and put us in a Dodge Neon. A new one. Well, 43k miles on it, but not very old. SO...then a little later the guy at the body shop calls me to tell me that they have my truck and ordered the parts but they don't have a work order. Turns out that the lady who was working on my claim was "no longer with the company". So none of it was done. But it got all figured out finally.
Now, back to the Dodge. So this is a new vehicle. And I notice yesterday while stopped at a stop sign, I think I get bumped from behind. My initial reaction is of course....Great, I just got hit in a rental car...But I didn't. I look back and the guy behind me is a half a car link behind me stopped so I know he didn't bump me. So it happens again. It dawns on me at that time that the engine was lunging. LUNGING! ON A BRAND NEW VEHICLE! Then I notice today just how hard it is to turn on the blinkers, press on the gas petal and the brake petal. Now, my truck is not that new. It will be a year old in Dec and my blinkers, brake and gas petals and the seats are just as soft and fluid to use and set in as they were when I bought it.
If I'd bought a car home that was like that and after a few thousand miles was like that, I'd be pissed! I would absolutely throw a fit. Especially to know that the vehicle is probably newer if not the same year as my truck and the only reason that the miles are on it is because it is a rental. I'm just disappointed to say that the car reminds me of a Cobalt in feeling on the inside. Now as far as performance is concerned, hands down, the get up and go is definitely there and the cornering and handeling is great! But the inside feel and the lines are terrible.
Well, actually, this is kind of a short blog, but I wanted to get that out there. Holla!
Monday, August 07, 2006
Ok, so first off lets start with my summer this year. After my second cousin was burried in the beginning of April, I lost my grandpa on my daddy's side 15 days later. So you know...already by this time dealing with two losses in the family. Then my truck goes in the shop. They run over something in the truck and it has to go back into the shop for a little while longer. Then, if it doesn't get any worse, I lose my other living grandpa on my mama's side of the family, 60 days after my daddy's dad dies.
And just when I think that I can't handle any more...I wreck my brand new 8 month old truck this morning on my way to the doctors office who funny enough wanted to see how this new depression medicine was working on me that they put me on because of this episodic depression I am in due to all the loss in my family this year.
Ok so...here's me this morning, window rolled down because I'm smoking a cig on the way. At 40mph a freaking huge bug flies in the window, hits me in the face. So instinctively when you have something coming at your face you are going to protect your eyes and get the bug away. As I did this going around a corner I proceded off the road.
Now at this time, I look up and remember the last major car accident I was in I over corrected and instinctively know that if I over correct I am going to hit another car. So I hit the brakes lightly and pull up on the road, hitting a mailbox. Now mind you, at this time I think that the grass that I ran through was just about level with the road. No ditch or anything, just someones yard. I get slowed down and pull into a driveway slightly down the road from the victimized mailbox and get out and look at the truck. I have run this poor mailbox (with no knowledge of its impending doom) down the entire passenger side of my truck. Now I can definitely give props to Ford for making their trucks high enough that my mirror was spared!
So, I call Pooh Bear, he first and foremost makes sure I'm ok, then he asks me what happened. I procede to tell him, call the police dept and the insurance company and wait. When I call the police department the ask what has happened and I explain that with as much damage is done to my truck, the mailbox has got to be smashed. The police only took 5 minutes. Well I get back into my truck to pull it further down this persons driveway so that the officer can pull off the road and into the driveway and take down my information on the report and I realize that the stupid bug is still alive. Yeah!
So he asks me what happened. I procede to spill what I had done and he tells me to get my drivers license and registration while he goes down to see the mailbox. I wait for a couple more minutes and he comes back and tells me that the mailbox is a little bit damaged but can be banged out with a hammer and be fine.
This is where my thought title comes from...He procedes to tell me that now that he knows that I'm ok and that I have explained the story he has to tell me that when he got the call to come out to the address of the driveway I was at, they just told him on the radio that it was an accident and on the little screen of the computer in his squad car it popped up...Bug Caused Accident. He'd told me that it was definitely a first for him, but now that I had explained it, it made a little more sense. So, we laughed, the police dept left a voice mail for the people who's mailbox I mutilated and left a card for them so that they could call him and get my info and my insurance info.
So, Pooh Bear gets there to make sure I'm ok and we go down the road to see this poor mailbox and the yard to make sure I hadn't done too much damage. Turns out while looking at it, I did not go off into someones yard. I went off into a 3 foot ditch. And looking at my tire tracks, I tell you now...it was the grace of God that kept me from rolling my truck over when I come up out of there. Its amazing looking at it, that I came out with my passenger side being marred and nothing else.
Well, thats about all for tonight. I'm gunna eat me some grub, drink me some wine and hit the hay. Props and much Thanks to God. Love ya man!